theonlywayismelbourne

Blogging from Down Under

Homeward Bound

Now I know that some of you may know that I have been lucky enough to be shortlisted in a teeny tiny little thing called the MAD Blog Awards. If you didn’t know, I am not sure how it has escaped your attention given that I have been harping on about it for what seems like forever, here, here and here.

The awards ceremony is taking place on 20 September at the very swish Royal Garden Hotel in London (Kensington no less – get me!) and guess who’s flying back to the UK for the ceremony. . .

My friend S. . . . No no, not really

Me, me it’s me!

I am going to be heading back in September and I am sooo excited.

I know I’ve been a bit remiss in letting you know, but I wanted to make sure it was definitely happening before I said anything.

Weeeell the flights are booked, I got my itiniery the other day so yippeee I’m heading back.

I am so looking forward to going back I will be in the Uk for a little while so it will be lovely to catch up with family and friends while I am there, I just need to try and organise myself to get round as many people as possible.

Did I mention I am soooooo excited.?.?.

All I have to do now is get a 24 hour flight out of the way – ON MY OWN with the Bear! That’s  going to be interesting! I know I’ve  done it before but that doesn’t make it any easier so any tips anyone can give me on what to do to keep a 2 and half year old entertained on the flight would be most appreciated.

There’s just so much to think about before I go, the most important (obviously) being what am I going to wear????? Clearly I am going to have to get something new and amaze balls, long or short though, actually what’s the dress code? Is there a dress code? – the pressures on already!!

Look out MAD BLOG AWARDS I’m coming to get you. . . . (If I can find something to wear in time)

Any travel tips anyone can help me with?

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Homeward Bound

  1. Well I don’t have kids but my advice is to drug him! Aussie mums love phernergan for long plane rides! That’s so exciting that you get to go home. Excellent timing because a melbourne winter is bleak….

    • Thanks for the tip Ms George that definitely sounds like an option 😉
      I’m really excited about heading back it will be nice to break up the Melbourne winter (although to be honest I bet it will still be warmer here than it will be in the UK).

  2. Yeah!!! That’s such great news Rhian! I’m so excited about the MAD awards too, and I’m really looking forward to meeting you there in the flesh! I’ll be the one with the Aussie accent (oh, no, wait… that’s probably you too now!)

    I have lots of advice about travelling long-haul with kids (although I don’t think you need any, as if you’ve done it once on your own, then you should be giving advice, not taking it!!)

    Here is a post I wrote about My Top 10 Tips for Surviving a Long-Haul Flight with Children:

    http://gammonandchips.com/2013/01/30/my-top-10-tips-for-surviving-a-long-haul-flight-with-children/

    On a similar subject (although 2.5 might be a bit young), I’ve also written a post about My Top 10 Travel Games for Kids (Without Props):

    http://gammonandchips.com/2013/05/17/my-top-10-travel-games-for-kids/

    These are probably telling you to suck eggs, but might be helpful to some of your readers!

    Can’t wait until September now!

    See you then,

    Maddie

    • Thanks Maddie I don’t know about being an expert I think I will wait until I’ve done it, then I might write a post about it depending on how it goes!!!
      Thanks for the links I will definitely be checking them out before I head over.
      I am sooooo ridiculously excited,
      and I will see you there – look forward to meeting you. X
      🙂

  3. Yay! That’s a bit exciting! I’ll have a think about the flight stuff, we’ve done loads of it with T, but I completely forget about what works best at each age… Which company are you flying with? xx

    • Thanks Ruth, we are flying with Emirates who I have been told are very good so fingers crossed it will be ok and they’ll help me out.
      Look forward to seeing you there 🙂

  4. Anna spanna on said:

    Hey Rhe. That’s so exciting!! Really hope we get to see each other when you are over.

    BTW I’m a dab hand at babysitting and child minding now so will happily come help you fly back with the wee man!! Just need a fortnights holiday in the Australian sun to prepare!!! My fees are reasonable dont ya think!!!

    Anna xxx

  5. Yay Rhi, how exciting for you! Lots of books, pencils, more books and movies for the long flight. Good luck with the awards also. Will be sending you positive vibes from Oz…not that you’ll need them.

  6. Thanks very much Neets, I think by the time I’ve packed all the stuff he needs for the journey then there won’t be much room left for anything for me!!
    Thanks for the good luck wishes too.
    I’m so looking forward to it – very excited. 😀

  7. That is awesome! I am so excited for you to get to go home! Hope you’ll keep us updated from the other side of the world and good luck at the MADs!! x

  8. Thank you, I will definitely keep you updated it will be lovely to go home I’m really excited about it. Heeeeeeeee 😀

I love reading your comments, it helps me to know I am not talking to myself. If you'd like to please leave me a comment below.