theonlywayismelbourne

Blogging from Down Under

Considering career options.

I feel that I am at a bit of a turning point in my work life at the moment. I have been thinking about what is next for my career for a little while now. Since I gave the Bear life I haven’t gone back to my old job and since moving to Australia, to be honest I have been having too good a time to think about work. Well, no, thats wrong actually; I have thought about work quite a bit and on each occasion dismissed the idea pretty quickly.
I am however, still considering my options and over recent days I have been toying (excuse the pun) with the idea of a career in child care as an option. I mean I am a mum myself, like how hard can it be really?

Now as you may know from my previous post, my sister, mum and little nephew are visiting at the moment. I have been looking forward to it for so long. I could hardly wait to hold my little nephew in my arms and give him a big hug and squeeze from his Auntie. I had also been really looking forward to helping out as much as I can to give my sister a little break.

I got my opportunity to help pretty soon into their time here.

Jet lag is a killer isn’t it and poor little nephew was all over the place with his sleep patterns having just endured a 24 hour journey which I have now found out was actually 3 LEGS long! So on the first night poor Samuel didn’t know whether he was coming or going, he woke up at least 5 or 6 times crying before going back to sleep again. On one particular occasion however, around 3.45am he woke up completely inconsolable (well I say he woke up, in actual fact he had been crying for much longer than that but I only heard him at 3.45am due to my sleeping so deeply that a full on hurricane couldn’t wake me). However, albeit a little belatedly I leapt into action to go to my sleep deprived due to baby/extremely jet lagged sisters aid. Mum was already there attempting to soothe Samuel which wasn’t working so I offered my services thinking I could hold and soothe baby in the hope that a change of scenery may calm him down.

Bear in mind that the crying/screaming/moaning and talking (of me sis and mum) was getting rather loud, so in an attempt to not wake up the entire house I suggested we go downstairs (in the dark).

Rookie mistake!

Tenderly cradling my precious nephew I began my descent down the stairs . . . . . .
1 steeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep!Whoosh
Out came my heel from under me and back slammed my head on the corner of the stairs as I slipped and fell down the stairs, all the while holding precious baby nephew. . . . .

Horrendous does not cover it!

Instinctively I leant back into my fall so that I didn’t go tumbling head first with him in my arms, and somehow I managed to take every little bit of the impact of the tumble. Miraculously I managed to keep a tight hold on him and cradle his head so that instead of his head hitting the bare wooden stair it was my wrist, instead of his back smacking the hard wood it was my forearm and my stomach as I twisted and contorted myself to protect him.

I came to a final stop about 2 steps from the bottom.

. . . . . . then there was silence and stillness – all 4 of us shocked to silence and immobility for a second,

and then . . .
and then came the tears,
. . . . . . and then sister leapt into action
. . . . . . . . . . . . . .and then mum leapt into action.

Precious little nephew was ok , absolutely fine, no bumps, not a scratch.

Sister on the other hand – traumatised
Mum on the other, other hand – paralysed with shock

Me? – Battered, bruised with a lump on my head the size of a mango.

. . . . . .I am currently considering alternative career choices.

He is ok – promise!

20130111-084641.jpg
I am linking up with Grace today at withsomegrace for Flog Yo Blog Friday. Very apt for this post I think.

Single Post Navigation

32 thoughts on “Considering career options.

  1. LOL, maybe you could be a stunt woman?

  2. they come all that way and then you drop the baby!

  3. Ouch – that sounds like a rocky trip in the middle of the night !!! Glad to hear that he is OK – are you ????
    Hmm – maybe a different career choice would be good !!!
    Have the best day !
    Me

    • He is absolutely fine, I am hurting all over though, I have a massive bruise on my back and all down my arm and it hurts to turn and I can’t lean my elbow on anything as it hurts , and I might have mild concussion . . . .but otherwise it’s all good. 😉
      Definitely put the child care option to bed. I think it would cost too much to insure me!

  4. Gosh what a terrible fright for you all. Well done on keeping him safe, it’s amazing how we do some things instinctively.. even falling!

  5. I know, you just sort of go onto auto pilot, I am just so thankful I managed to fall backwards, I can’t bear to think how it could have turned out had I fallen forwards. I shudder thinking about it. 😦

  6. Oh noes!!!!!!!!!!!!! It’s amazing though how those instincts kick in and baby was fine … you not so much 😉

  7. Oh no… I was reading you and in my head I was like don’t worry if she’s writing that means both the baby and her are fine! There are many careers out there Rhian! LOL

  8. Ouch!!! Thank goodness your nephew is okay. Well, you too but it does sound like you should take up stunt acting as your next career move 🙂

    • Hmmmm I am not sure about that, I will probably lose a limb by day 1, concussion by day 2 and goodness knows what by the end of the first week. Maybe I could try sales- a bit safer! 😉

  9. Oh no! You must have been terrified!! Thank god you are all OK. x

  10. Oh my goodness! You poor thing. That must have been terrible for you, not to mention terrifying.
    I’m so glad you’re both ok!
    xx

  11. I vividly remember falling down the stairs with Matilda as a baby and being battered and bruised as I instinctively took the fall for her. I think it’s amazing that we can protect our kids instinctively like that.

    • Absolutely, we just do everything we can to protect them without even thinking about it. After the shock had worn off I was just so relieved that he was alright. x

  12. Please join us for a Friday Flash Blog, where you can share your favorite posting of the week and see what others are talking about at http://www.fridayflashblog.blogspot.com

    And be sure to sign up on our site to get an email notice when the next Friday Flash Blog is live.

  13. Danya Banya on said:

    Oh no! I can just imagine the dozens of heart attacks you must have had during the split seconds of falling. So glad your both ok…

    • I don’t even know what I was thinking as it was happening to be honest, I was just so busy trying to stop him hitting the stairs and stop myself falling. It was afterwards that it all kicked in and the shock set in. I am so thankful it was all ok. Thanks so much for popping over 🙂

  14. Oh gosh that must have been so awful for you all. I hope that the injuries are not to bad. Well done you at protecting the baby, sounds like the perfecting making of a carer right there

    • I don’t know about that, I think I might try something a little safer where I only have to take care of myself. Injuries are healing now thank you, but I did catch sight of a massive black bruise on my derrier this morning, don’t think I will be wearing bikinis for a while.

  15. Sheesh that would have given you all such a shock! My Dad did similar once carrying my brother to bed- although my brother was a lot older. He bounced off Dad’s tummy and was perfectly fine. Dad had a sprained ankle that was initially thought to be broken. Eeek life with children is difficult. And I have all of that ahead of me!

  16. OMG terrifying!! Glad he was ok. hope your bumps and bruises are ok. how scary for you all! Best you don’t look after any kids, really. x

  17. Trish MLDB on said:

    Very scary , so glad you were both Ok (except for your bruises and shock).
    What other careers were on the list ?

  18. Thank you – yep thankfully all good now.
    Other careers I did think PT but then I am just putting an adults life potentially in my hands so maybe not. There seems to be a few comments on here saying I should be a stunt woman though, so I am seriously starting to consider that option 😉

I love reading your comments, it helps me to know I am not talking to myself. If you'd like to please leave me a comment below.